Open Tues, Weds, Fri, Sat 11-5 and Sun 12-5 GET TICKETS NOW!

7/3/2013 – Burlesque Hall of Fame announces 2013 “Sassy Lassy” recipients

Kay Sera, The Burlesque Hall of Fame
(888) 661-6465



for Outstanding Contribution to the Burlesque Performance Industry

 July 3, 2013 – Las Vegas, NV – World-renowned burlesque superstar Catherine D’Lish; artist, collector and supporter Scott Ewalt; and fashion designer Katy K, were the Burlesque Hall of Fame 2013 “Sassy Lassy” award recipients for significant impact in the promotion and perpetuation of burlesque.

From its earliest days as the “Exotique [sic] Dancers League of North America,” founded by Jennie Lee in 1957, the Burlesque Hall of Fame (BHoF) has encouraged and honored outstanding contributions by its membership with special recognition and awards.

The Sassy Lassy Awards were launched in 2011 in special recognition of those who have had a significant impact in the promotion and perpetuation of burlesque. The award name is a nod to the nightclub where Jennie Lee held  several of the early EDL Reunions and her private collection of burlesque ephemera was first displayed for the general public.

This year’s Sassy Lassy winners and presenters were:

Catherine D’Lish, presented by Dita Von Teese

Catherine has competed in and won nearly every pageant and title available to striptease performers, holding over thirty titles such as Miss Nude USA, World’s Performer of the Year, Miss Erotic World, Showgirl of the Year, Miss Exotic America, Miss Nude International, USA’s Best Shows, and of course, Miss Exotic World, twice (1992 & 1994). After two decades, she continues to tour, perform, teach, and innovate in the burlesque art form; she is the World Record Holder for Largest Feather Fan (2009).

“It is a nice compliment to be the recipient of a ‘Sassy Lassy’ award,” said D’Lish. “This experience was made sweeter by the surprise presentation by Dita. I was very touched by her flattering words, and her participation made this an even more memorable occasion for me. The annual Burlesque Hall of Fame event is a wonderful way to bring together the global burlesque community.”

(Presenter Dita Von Teese, member of the Burlesque Hall of Fame Board of Directors, is one of the biggest names in burlesque and is often credited with helping to bring the art form back in to the spotlight with a new sense of elegance and sophistication.)

Scott Ewalt, presented by Paula the Swedish Housewife

Scott Ewalt is an artist whose work is fueled by his collecting of original burlesque ephemera, and the relationships he has forged with legends of classic burlesque (with a focus on the often-overlooked history of male burlesque). He has worked to expand the burlesque aesthetic in the New York art galleries and night clubs, and the Paris fashion world. His twenty years’ of burlesque art was recently presented in his first one man show.

“Working for the artists involved in burlesque has been a labor of true love,” said Ewalt. “To have the phone ring and be able to step back in time with these incredible women, and a few men, has been one of the most invigorating experiences I’ve ever had.”

Katy K, neo-burlesque pioneer, historian, designer and muse, presented by Dirty Martini

Inspired by Hollywood musicals and newspaper ads for Philly’s Troc Burlesque Theater, Katy K was always attracted to glamour. She attended Parsons School of Design in New York for fashion design and during late ‘70s early ‘80s created shows at Mudd Club, The Limelight, and Pyramid Club. Upon moving to Nashville in 1994, Katy presented shows featuring groundbreaking performers such as World Famous *BOB*, Dirty Martini, Torchy Taboo, Kitten on the Keys, and El Vez.

“I’ve been proud to be involved with such a wonderful and talented group of people,” said K. “To be recognized by the Burlesque Hall of Fame as a ‘Sassy Lassy’ is an incredible—and humbling—feeling.”

About the Burlesque Hall of Fame
The Burlesque Hall of Fame is a 501 (c)(3) nonprofit organization with a mission to inspire and educate the public about the unique history and heritage of vintage American Burlesque. Visit us at



Burlesque Hall of Fame